The “Fire and Ice” Facial by Eminence

The Fire and Ice Facial by Eminence is the hottest new trend in Hollywood skincare – but does it live up to the hype? I put it to the test under the guidance of my trusted esthetician at Wax Me Boutique.

The facial is exactly what it sounds like, a hot treatment followed by a cold treatment. The fire comes from a face mask blended with spices. It gets very warm on your skin, and while I would not say it is uncomfortable, it is certainly a potent mask. It encourages circulation and cell turnover, so once it was removed, my skin was very warm and red. I felt like I was blushing but had no reason to do so. The fire mask was then replaced with the cooling mask, made with ingredients like peppermint, cucumber and tea tree. The cooling mask is very pleasant and soothing, and immediately calms any redness and inflammation that may have resulted from the fire mask. The whole treatment smells amazing and, despite some squirming under the hot mask, was enjoyable.

The real question, however, is the long-term effect of the treatment. Since the treatment, my skin has been clear and glowing – to the point that I cringe at putting on foundation because it dulls my skin in comparison. Part of this effect must of course be from my strict regimen of monthly facials, as a regular facial schedule is the key to great skin. Still, I can’t remember the last time that my skin was not actually improved with some makeup coverage and I actually wanted to show off my bare skin. My ultimate facial goals have always been to feel comfortable in my own skin, with or without makeup, and it seems that the coveted “Fire and Ice” Facial finally got me to that place.

Leave a Reply

